Contact us

San Francisco

From Baghdad to The Bay is a documentary that follows the journey of an Iraqi refugee and former translator for the US military. Wrongfully accused of being a double agent, tortured by the U.S. and ostracized from his family and country, Ghazwan Alsharif struggles to rebuild his life in the United States while coming out as an openly gay man.

Our Contributors

This documentary is made possible by support from our donors.

Extra special thanks to the following people for their generous support. We couldn't do this without them!

If you would you like to join them and help to finish this important film? CLICK HERE

Major Funders

Beacon Reader
Horizons Foundation Community Issues Grant
East Bay Community Foundation East Bay Fund for Artists
The Fleishhacker Family Foundation
Tim Larson & Mary Grant Larson
Pacific Pioneer Fund
Telluride Mountainfilm Commitment Grant



Abraham Lopez
Andree Mcmanus
Anna Branzuela
Anna Whitcher
Anne Robie
Anthony Palombit
Anya Shapina
Anuj Nadar & Charlotte Fury
Atiba Rougier
Babs Fahrney
Bassam Kassab
BAVC (Mediamaker Fellowship)
Beth Kuenstler
Beth Lanzi
Betty Jain
Bob Dockendorf
Bonell Ryan Inc.
Brian Worthington
Bruce McCoy
Bryan Kilgore
Carl Palmquist
Catherine Craig
Celeste Lecompte
Charles Sands & Kelly Wag
Charlotte August
Chater Camera
Cheryl Johnson
Chris Faber
Chris Stevenson
Christa Brandenburg
Claudio Calcagno
Courtney W. Paul
Cynthi Stefenoni
Cynthia Linzy & Don Gold
Dan Goldes
Dan Laden
Daniela Rible
Danny Cain
Daren Estrada
David O'Connor
David Schneider
David Slattengren & Tim Caldwell
David W. Johnson
David Weissman
Desmond & Ursula Cimo
Donald Gold & Cynthia Linzy
Ellie Pierce
Erica Marcus

Morgan Schmidt-Feng
Nabeel Al-Shamma
Nadeem Ghali
Nancy Linzy
Neva Tassan
Nicole Mandel
Nicole Sattler & Erik Zapien
Nobu Ito
Noelle Linzy
Pam Mendelsohn
Pamela A. Brown
Patricia Thomas & Scott Atthowe
Pieter Bach
Puppet Mills
Ramey Barnett & Rhea Howard
Rebecca Robb Benne
Richard Bickhoff
Richard Jordan
Robb Detlefs
Robin Bauer
Ryan Lynch
Sabin Balint
Sangjin Park
Scott Merillat
Serge Bakalian
Sherilyn Adams
Stacey Toal Stefanie Faucher
Stephen Shumaker
Steve & Taara Bissinger
Steve Kaye
Stuart Liroff
Supernatural Factory
Tania Zapata
Tara Logan
Tom Stuart
Tim Monroe
Tonya Ketza
Tracy Jordan French
Trang Nguyen
Trina de Joya
Vinney Arora
Wil Hobbs
William H Haight III

Gail J. Silva
Gary Stolzoff & Suzi Alexander
George & Anthony Harrison
Gerry Tollefson
Gregory Boudreaux
Grover & Anya Black
Gyorgy Vass
H. Lee
Ian Foraker
Jack Pineda
Jen Speed
Janina Shayne
Jay Farrington
Jeff Barson
Jen Speed
Jennifer Huang
Jerome Potozkin MD
Jesse Furrow
Jim Collins
Jim Linzy
Jim McSilver
Joey Xanders
Johanna Silverthorne
John Di Ruocco
John Palmquist
John Weitzel
Joshua Smith
Karena O'Riordan
Kate & Allan aks
Katie Hammerson
Kavoos Bassiri
Kendall Brown
Kristina Robbins
Laura Powell
Lauren Flasher
Leah Wolchok
Linda Patrik
Maged Salib
Mark A. Smith
Marti & Liam
Mary Salome
Meire Santos
Michael Armado
Michael Christian
Michael Mitrani
Michelle Blakely
MJ Moneymaker